Mission statement



Sq Drawring .jpg



1.                            The name of the Association is The Albion Square Residents Association (the Association).


2.                          The area covered by the Association is the area the boundaries of which are as follows (the Area):

(a)             to the north, the south side of Middleton Road from Kingsland Road to Queensbridge Road;

(b)             to the south, the south side of Albion Square and Albion Drive from Stonebridge Common to Queensbridge Road;

(c)             to the east, the west side of Queensbridge Road from Albion Drive to Middleton Road;

(d)             to the west, the east side of Haggerston Road from Kingsland Road to (and including) Thalia Court.


3.                            The objects of the Association are to work for the maintenance and improvement of the living conditions in and the environment of the Area as a whole and to promote the welfare and represent the interests of its residents.    


4.                            Membership is open to all residents in the Area subject to payment of a subscription for such period and/or in such sum as the Committee and/or the members at the Annual General Meeting of the Association (AGM) may from time to time determine.  The Secretary and Treasurer will jointly maintain a register of members.


5.                            The members shall at each AGM elect a Committee of up to eight members including a Chairman, a Secretary and a Treasurer, but no Councillor of the London Borough of Hackney shall be eligible for membership of the Committee and any Committee member who becomes such a Councillor during his/her term of office shall resign forthwith. Subject as aforesaid, the Committee may appoint members of the Committee at any time to fill any vacancy. Committee members shall hold office until the next AGM (when they shall automatically retire) or until removal either:

(a)             by resolution of the Association in a Special Meeting; or

(b)             pursuant to Rule 9(b) below.

Retiring members of the Committee shall be eligible for re-election provided always that no Committee member shall be entitled to stand for re-election at more than two successive AGMs.

6.                            The Committee may delegate any of its powers to such sub-committee (a Sub-Committee) for such purposes, to such extent and on such terms and conditions as the Committee thinks fit and may revoke or alter any such delegation.  A Sub-Committee may consist of persons who are not members of the Committee.  Any Sub-Committee must follow procedures which are based, so far as they are applicable, on the Rules which govern the taking of decisions by members of the Committee.

AGM and Special Meetings

7.                            The AGM shall be held in Spring each year and every member shall be given not less than seven days’ notice of such Meeting.  Special Meetings of the Association may be convened by the Secretary upon a request by the Committee or any five members upon similar notice which shall state the business to be considered at the meeting.

8.                            At every meeting of the members every member including the Chairman shall have one vote and in the case of equality of votes the Chairman shall have a second or casting vote.

Committee Meetings

9.                            (a)             The Committee shall meet once in each month except in the month of August and additionally as required and shall appoint a Chairman (who need not be Chairman of the Association) to preside at such meetings.  Each member including the Chairman of the meeting shall have one vote and in the case of equality of votes the Chairman of the meeting shall have a second or casting vote.

(b)             Any Committee member who fails without reasonable excuse to attend two consecutive Committee meetings shall automatically cease to hold office if he/she is not present at the next succeeding Committee meeting, unless the Committee shall otherwise resolve.  The Committee will give written warning to any member absent for two such meetings of the consequence of his/her failure to be present at the third succeeding meeting.

(c)             The Secretary shall keep a record of Committee meetings which shall be available for inspection at all reasonable times together with details of forthcoming meetings.

(d)             Members of the Association who are not Committee members are entitled to attend Committee meetings but shall have no right to vote.

(e)             Half of the members for the time being of the Committee (rounded up in the event of an odd number of members) shall constitute a quorum.


Police Liaison Officer

10.                       The members shall at each AGM elect a Police Liaison Officer to hold office until the next AGM or until removal by resolution of the Association at a Special Meeting.  The person so elected shall be entitled to attend any meeting of the Committee (but not to vote) and shall report to the Committee on police liaison matters as and when necessary.

Bank Account

11.                       The responsibility for collection of all subscriptions shall rest with the Treasurer who shall pay the same into a bank account in the name of the Association. Cheques shall be signed by two members of the Committee.  The Treasurer will make such reports as to the subscriptions collected and the state of the account as the Committee may, from time to time require.  The bank account may not be closed nor the terms on which it is held amended without the approval of the Committee.

12.                       All funds held from time to time by or on behalf of the Association shall be applied exclusively in or in connection with meeting its objects save that, on a winding up, the funds shall be applied first in meeting the debts and liabilities of the Association and thereafter for charitable purposes.

Alterations to Rules

13.                       These Rules other than Rule 3 and this Rule may be altered or repealed or added to by a Resolution passed by a three-fourths majority of the members of the Association who are present in person at a Special Meeting convened for that purpose and of which notice has been given to every then member of the Association at his or her last known address.